clinical faculty and affiliates

 

 

 CORE FACULTY

  BerenzErin Berenz, Erin
Assistant Professor
BSB 1062A
(312) 315-0808
E-mail: eberenz@uic.edu  

                                               

Education: PhD, University of Vermont, 2011.

 

My primary research aims are:

  • To identify etiological pathways by which individuals develop co-occurring PTSD and alcohol use disorders so that we may better identify “at risk” individuals
  • To develop and evaluate prevention programs geared towards decreasing individuals’ risk for psychopathology following trauma exposure
  • To enhance our understanding of how best to treat individuals when they present in clinical settings with comorbid PTSD and alcohol use disorders

 

  Herbener Herbener, Ellen
Associate Professor
BSB 1046A
(312) 413-2638
E-mail: herbener@uic.edu

Education: PhD, Harvard University, 1992.

Schizophrenia; Psychosis; anhedonia and avolition; emotional processing, cognition-emotion integration, neuroimaging.

     




  Kassel Kassel, Jon
Professor
Co-Director of Clinical Training
BSB 1066B
(312) 413-9162
E-mail: jkassel@uic.edu

Education: PhD, University of Pittsburg, 1995.

Addiction science; drugs and emotion; cognitive models of depression, anxiety and drug use; adolescent smoking.

  
 Amanda Lorenz Lorenz, Amanda
Director of OAPS
Co-Director of Clinical Training
BSB 3010
(312) 413-2636
E-mail: arlorenz@uic.edu

Education: PhD, University of Wisconsin, 2002.

My professional goals are (1) to identify the qualities and skills necessary to become a clinical scientist within the field of clinical psychology and (2) to develop specific training techniques to build and strengthen these skills in graduate students.

  Mermelstein Mermelstein, Robin
Professor 
Director of IHRP
WROB 544
(312) 996-1469
E-mail: robinm@uic.edu

Education: PhD, University of Oregon, 1984.

Health-related interventions; etiology and maintenance of health behaviors; tobacco use; adolescent smoking and problem behaviors; cancer prevention; ecological momentary assessment.  

 Rowen Rowen, Jenna
Associate Director of OAPS
BSB 3010
(312) 413-8709
E-mail: jrowen@uic.edu

Education: Ph.D, University of Virginia, 2015

Family-focused psychosocial treatmeant; child and adolescent internalizing and externalizing disorders; divorce & interparental conflict; effective parent-teacher partnerships. 

 Shankman Shankman, Stewart
Associate Professor
BSB 1018D
(312) 355-3812
E-mail: stewarts@uic.edu

Education: PhD, State University of New York at Stony Brook, 2005.

Relation between mood and anxiety disorders; integration of clinical and neuroscience approaches (psychophysiology, neuroimaging, etc.) to the study of psychopathology.


 

 affiliates

  Atkins Atkins, Marc
Professor in Psychiatry
 IJR 326         
(312) 413-1048
E-mail: atkins@uic.edu

Education: PhD, Florida State University, 1985

Community mental health services for urban children; school based mental health services; dissemination and implementation science.


Bottoms Bottoms, Bette
Professor
BSB 1062C
(312) 413-2300
Email: bbottoms@uic.edu

Education: PhD, State University of New York at Buffalo, 1992.

Factors that affect children's eyewitness testimony and techniques to improve children's reports; jury decision making in cases involving child witnesses and juvenile defendants; disclosure of and delayed memories for childhood abuse.



           
Cervone Cervone, Daniel
Professor
BSB 1008
(312) 413-2632
E-mail: dcervone@uic.edu

Education: PhD, Stanford University, 1985.

Personality psychology, social-cognitive processes and personality coherence, goal setting and self-regulation, perceived self-efficacy, affect and cognition.


Klumpp Klumpp, Heide
Assistant Professor, Psychiatry
1747 W. Roosevelt Rd, Room 246
(312) 996-0416
Email: hklumpp@psych.uic.edu

Education: PhD, University of Georgia, 2006.

Brain mechanisms of emotion processing and regulation in anxiety and depression.
Brain markers of treatment response in anxiety and depression.
Information processing disturbances in internalizing disorders.




Lamar
Lamar, Melissa                    
Assistant Professor, Psychiatry
1604 W. Taylor Street          
(312) 996-5779
Email: mlamar@uic.edu
                         

 
Education: PhD, Drexel University.

Dr. Lamar’s research at UIC centers on the impact of vascular risk factors on brain structure and function in normal and pathological aging with an emphasis on minority health disparities.


Langenecker Langenecker, Scott
Associate Professor, Psychiatry
1601 W. Taylor Street           
(312) 996-0085           
E-mail: slangenecker@psych.uic.edu  

Education
: PhD, Marquette University, 2001.

Mechanisms of depression and mood disorders, predictors of treatment response, changes with treatment, predictors of relapse, neuroimaging and neuropsychological markers, intermediate phenotypes, L-HPA axis function and dysfunction.

 Reyes Reyes, Karina
Associate Professor
BSB 1056A
(312) 413-2627
E-mail: kreyes@uic.edu

Education: PhD, DePaul University, 1989.

 

Resilience and protective factors and the prevention of high-risk behaviors in urban, minority children and adolescents.


 Weissberg
 
Weissberg, Roger
Professor
BSB 1008A
(312) 226-3795
E-mail: rpw@uic.edu

Education: PhD, University of Rochester, 1980.

School-family-community partnerships to enhance children’s social, emotional, and academic learning; prevention of substance use, delinquency, violence, and school dropout; positive youth development, health promotion, and service-learning; social policy for children, youth, and families.


  Zinsser2 Zinsser, Kate 
Assistant Professor
BSB 1050D
(312) 996-5494
E-mail: kzinsser@uic.edu 

Education:  George Mason University, 2013.

Social and emotional development across the lifespan, early childhood intervention and education policy, teacher-child relationships, classroom climate, early childhood workforce development, support, and well-being.