Cognitive Faculty & Affiliates

Name Title Phone & Office Email Address

Jenny 1
Danek, Amory
Postdoctoral Research Associate  (312)
996-8190
BSB 1054D
danek@uic.edu (Ludwig Maxmillian Universitat, 2012).
Problem solving, affective and cognitive dimensions of the Aha! experience, brain regions underlying insight.

goldman
Goldman, Susan

LAS Distinguished Professor (312) 996-4462
BSB 1022C
sgoldman@uic.edu (University of Pittsburgh, 1979). Learning in multimedia environments, especially strategies for understanding; instruction and the design of learning environments; assessment; development of disciplinary literacies.

tgriffin_s
Griffin, Thomas

Research Professor (312) 996-8190
BSB 1054D
tgriffin@uic.edu (University of Illinois at Chicago, 2003). Affective and cognitive bases of belief revision, knowledge acquisition, and conceptual change; Metacomprehension and learning from text.

leshikar_s
Leshikar, Eric

Visiting Assistant Professor (312) 355-2739
BSB 1042D
leshikar@uic.edu (University of Illinois, Urbana Champaign, 2009). Aging and memory; social and emotional memory across the lifespan; cognitive neuroscience of aging; long-term memory formation; memory for impressions; self-referential encoding.

karams
Morgan-Short, Kara

Associate Professor, Hispanic & Italian Studies (312) 996-5215
UH 1718
karams@uic.edu (Georgetown University, 2007). Neurocognition of second language processing and acquisition; effects of explicit and implicit training and practice on second language acquisition; verbal protocols; event-related brain potentials.

ohlsson
Ohlsson, Stellan

Professor (312) 996-6643
BSB 1050C
stellan@uic.edu (University of Stockholm, 1980). Cognitive psychology; creativity; conceptual change; the acquisition of complex skills; cognitive modeling; the application of cognitive psychology to the design of information technologies, especially intelligent tutoring systems; the history of psychology.

pellegrino
Pellegrino, Jim

LAS Distinguished Professor (312) 355-3077
BSB 1018B
pellegjw@uic.edu (University of Colorado, 1973). Aptitude and intelligence assessment; application of cognitive theory to the analysis, redesign and utilization of standardized test instruments; inductive reasoning and spatial ability; technology and instructional design.

raney
Raney, Gary E.

Associate Professor (312) 413-1314
BSB 1046B
geraney@uic.edu (University of Florida, 1990). Language processing; text comprehension; figurative language; eye movements during reading; bilingualism; attention; memory.

stieff_s
Stieff, Mike

Associate Professor, Chemistry and Learning Sciences 312-996-4348
4376 SES
mstieff@uic.edu (Northwestern University, 2004). Use of visuospatial strategies in scientific problem solving, visuospatial ability and scientific expertise, and the development of visualization software for chemistry instruction.

szpunar
Szpunar, Karl

Assistant Professor (Starting Fall 2015) 312-XXX-XXXX
1054B BSB
szpunar@uic.edu (Washington University St. Louis, 2009). Memory; mind wandering in educational settings; cognitive and neural underpinnings of the capacity to simulate future events; how future thinking affects social and emotional adjustment

wiley
Wiley, Jennifer

Professor (312) 355-2501
BSB 1054C
jwiley@uic.edu (University of Pittsburgh, 1996). Problem solving; creativity and collaboration; Text comprehension, metacomprehension, and the role of visualization in science learning; the application of cognitive principles to educational contexts.