Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Mar 6 2023

The Black Scholar Series: Dr. Duane Watson (Affinity Session)

March 6, 2023

2:45 PM - 3:45 PM America/Chicago

The Affinity Session provides the opportunity for Black students, staff, and faculty to come together in community with each other and the visiting scholar to collectively reflect on their realities of being Black and in the field of psychology.

Zoom Auto Transcription is provided. If you require a Live Transcriptionist, please email Jessica Shaw ( or Amanda Roy (


Dr. Jessica Shaw

Date posted

Dec 7, 2022

Date updated

Dec 7, 2022


Dr. Duane Watson | Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion, and Frank W. Mayborn Chair of Psychology and Human Development in Peabody College at Vanderbilt University.

Duane Watson is the Associate Dean for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion and the Frank W. Mayborn Chair of Psychology and Human Development in Peabody College at Vanderbilt University. He earned his A.B. in Psychology from Princeton University, and received his doctorate in Cognitive Science from M.I.T. After completing a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Rochester, Dr. Watson joined the Department of Psychology at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He moved to the Department of Psychology and Human Development at Vanderbilt University in 2016. Dr. Watson's research focuses on the cognitive processes that underlie language production, comprehension, and reading. His research has been funded by both the National Institute of Health and the National Science Foundation. He is currently an Associate Editor at the  Journal of Experimental Psychology: Learning, Memory, and Cognition, and has served on the Psychonomic Society Governing Board since 2018. He was the 2021 Chair of the Psychonomic Society Governing Board. Watson is also a co-founder of the SPARK Society, an organization that works towards increasing the number of historically marginalized groups in the brain and cognitive sciences. He currently serves on the SPARK Society Governing Board.