Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Nancy Hirschberg Memorial Prize

Nancy Hirschberg Memorial Prize for Undergraduate Excellence in Psychology

Two awards established in memorial of Nancy Hirschberg, a former faculty member, are available for Psychology majors. The first is an annual prize for the best paper or report written by an undergraduate in Psychology 397 (independent study), 399 (independent research), or in one of the laboratory courses. Nominations for the Hirschberg Prize are made by faculty members. Eligible papers should be the work of one undergraduate (that is, projects planned and/or carried out by groups of students are not eligible) and may be either reports of empirical research or integrative reviews of previously published research. Winners are announced at the Awards Banquet and given a cash prize.

The second is the Nancy Hirschberg Memorial Grant for Undergraduate Research. It is awarded annually to support excellent undergraduate research in the field of Psychology. In 2021 the deadline for applications will be October 29th. The application will consist of (a) a letter of support from the faculty advisor, and (b) a research proposal, budget, and budget justification of 1500 words or less. Award decisions will be made by a committee of two faculty members appointed by the Director of Undergraduate Studies. The committee will have discretion over the number and dollar amount of grants awarded in any given year. That decision, however, shall be guided by the principle of encouraging high quality research from the largest number of undergraduates.