Awards

Each spring, the Department holds a Graduate Awards Banquet to honor the achievements of our graduate students. The DGS, Graduate Program Coordinator, and COGS student representatives organize the banquet, which is a celebration for all students, staff, and faculty. At the Banquet, we announce winners of departmental awards (detailed below) and honor students who have received a Master's or PhD degree as well as those who have authored refereed journal articles and book chapters or presented a paper at a professional meeting.

Leonard D. Eron Award for Outstanding Scholarly Accomplishment

Established on the occasion of Leonard Eron's retirement, the award is made annually to the graduate student in the Department of Psychology at the University of Illinois at Chicago who best exemplifies the tradition of scholarship and scientific contributions made by Leonard Eron. Every graduate student registered during the current academic year in the Department is eligible for consideration for the award in that year, including students who completed all of their requirements for the Ph.D. since the date of the previous year's award. Apart from exceptional circumstances, graduate students will not be eligible if they have received the award before or if more than two years have passed between the date of their prospectus approval and the date of their dissertation approval. The major criterion for the award is evidence of accomplishment in scholarly research. The primary source of this evidence is papers authored by the nominee (first author) that are judged by the Selection Committee to have the potential for a major impact on the field.

1990 David B. Henry

1991 Loretta J. Stalans

1992 Not awarded

1993 Not awarded

1994 William G. Shadel

1995 Walter D. Scott

1996 Suzanne L. Davis

1997 Alison Miller

1998 Jason Schklar

1999 Nilly Rafaeli-Mohr

2000 Tamara Haegerich

2001 David J. Therriault

2002 Sharon M. Wasco

2002 Silai Oli Ivi. VVa

2003 Jessica Cook

2004 Not Awarded

2005 Henrietta Filipas

2006 James McAnany

2007 Ben Jee

2008 Jennifer Watling Neal

2009 Marina Fiori

2010 Adrienne J. Heinz

2011 Cynthia Nadjowsk

2012 Jessica Salerno

2013 Randi Schuster

2014 Andrew Jarosz

2015 Stephanie Gorka

2016 Natania Crane

2017 Amy Peters

2018 Gregory Bartoszek

2019 Courtney Zulaf

2020 Matt McCurdy

2021 Elizabeth Boots

2022 Carter Funkhouser

2023 Franchesca Kuhney

Harry S. Upshaw Award for Excellence in Teaching

Established on the occasion of Harry Upshaw's retirement, the award is made annually to the graduate student in the Department of Psychology at the University of Illinois at Chicago who best exemplifies Harry Upshaw's dedication to teaching excellence.

Every graduate student registered during the current academic year in the Department is eligible for consideration for the award in that year including students who completed all of their requirements for the PhD since the date of the previous year's award. In addition, the graduate student must have completed all of the requirements of the Practicum in Teaching and be committed to an academic career. The major criterion for the award is evidence of outstanding accomplishment in teaching.

1992 David B. Henry 1993 Theresa M. Schultz 1994 Pamela I. Dallob 1995 Paula Smith 1996 Mark R. Pitzer

1997 Nicole Schnopp-Wyatt

1998 Kimberley Duff 1999 Julie Tillema

2000 Courtney Ahrens & Bonnie Rosenblatt

2001 Bonnie Rosenblatt 2002 Kari Nysse-Carris 2003 Thomas D. Griffin 2004 Trina Kershaw 2005 Julie Schecter 2006 TracyCaldwell 2007 Robert Youmans 2008 Susan Long 2009 Jennifer Veilleux 2010 Travis R. Ricks

2011 E. Sam Winer & Traci Weinstein

2012 Steve N. DuBois 2013 Not Awarded 2012 Daniel Conybeare 2015 Ryan Leach 2016 Katie McCarthy 2017 Spencer Campbell 2018 Alex Jendrusina 2019 Amber Kraft

2021 Felix Pambuccian 2022 Kathryn Howard

2020 Vinod Dair Nas

Christopher B. Keys Award for Early Outstanding Research Achievement

Established on the occasion of Christopher Keys' retirement, this award is made annually to a 1st through 3rd year graduate student who is in good standing in the Department of Psychology at the University of Illinois at Chicago whose work best exemplifies the tradition of innovative, adventuresome research conducted by Christopher Keys.

The major criterion for the award is a high-quality research project that is completed in substantial part at UIC. Special consideration is given to an innovative research that breaks new ground theoretically, methodologically, empirically, or practically. The research has to be completed, so no works in progress, abstracts, etc. can be accepted, though it does not have to defended or in press yet.

2007 Justin St. Andre 2008 Adrienne Heinz 2009 Jessica Salerno 2010 Lisa M. Alvy 2011 Katherine Emerson 2012 Laura Kuper 2013 Stephanie Gorka 2014 Alexander Sokolovsky 2015 Sarah Hernandez 2016 Huiting Liu
2017 Matthew McCurdy
2018 Marbella Uriostegui
2019 Elizabeth Boots
2020 Carter Funkhouser
2021 Katherine Paltell
2022 Rebecca Denson
2023 Melanie Tran

Michael J. Piorkowski Award

In memory of their son, Michael J. Piorkowski, Dr. Geraldine and Mr. Frank Piorkowski have endowed an award to the University of Illinois at Chicago, Department of Psychology. The purpose of the award, in the words of his parents, is to "honor the memory of our son, Michael J. Piorkowski, and to encourage the pursuit of psychology to a graduate student who displays intellectual curiosity, creativity, strength of character, and love of people-characteristics that Michael had in abundance." Michael's graduate career in psychology was abruptly ended by a terminal illness. This award is given to a deserving student in the area of Brain & Cognitive Sciences.

1997 Mark R. Pitzer
1998 David Cook
1999 Holly Rice
2000 David Therriault
2001 Mark G. Orr
2002 Michael F. Bunting
2003 Tim Miura
2004 Ivan K. Ash
2005 Rob Youmans
2006 James McAnany
2007 Leah Rubin
2008 Gregory Colflesh
2009 Jason Braasch

2010 Travis Ricks

2011 Patrick Cushen
2012 Stephanie Ebner
2013 Andrew Jarosz
2014 Dennis Amodeo
2015 Allison Jaeger
2016 Jacklynn Fitzgerald
2017 Andriana Christofalos
2018 Marta Mielicki
2019 Sushi Shrikanth
2020 Tricia Guerrero
2021 Joshua Buffington
2022 Lena Hildenbrand
2023 Rachel Donka

Jamie Carter Research Resource Award

UIC alum Jamie Carter, in appreciation of her education in the Psychology Department, established this award to further their graduate student training by purchasing a research tool, e.g. special software package or small piece of equipment, attend a training workshop or travel to a conference in which the student will present. The awardee must be in good academic standing and demonstrate an active and productive research career.

2015 Carlos Salas & Alexander Sokolovsky
2016 Not awarded
2017 Hillary Rowe
2018 Not awarded
2019 Andriana Christafalos & Marie Chesaniuk
2020 Kathryn Howard
2022 Franchesca Kuhney
2023 Rebecca Denson

Dr. David B. Henry Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award

The UIC Department of Psychology appreciates the significant work of its graduate students who serve as teaching assistants. Each year, this work will be recognized with the Award for Outstanding Teaching Assistance. Winners will receive \$500 and a plaque. There may be multiple winners in exceptional circumstances.

ELIGIBILITY: Nominees should be graduate students in the Department of Psychology who have shown excellence in the role of teaching assistant over the course of one or more semesters.

2021 Kelly Burke2022 Jennifer Hoots2023 Joshua Lovett & Nellie Shippen